The coal industry flourished in Victorian times, drawing immigrants from far and wide. In South Shields the population soared from approximately 12,000
in 1801 to 75,000 by the late 1860s. Collieries in South Shields included:
• Templetown (1805–1826)
• St. Hilda's (1810–1940)
• West Harton (1844–1969)
• Boldon (1869–1982)
• Marsden (1879–1968)
• Whitburn (1879–1968)
• Westoe (1909–1993)
1808, Simon Temple leased the coal royalties from the Dean and Chapter of Durham and sunk the pit shaft that was to be better known as Temple Town Pit.
Today, Temple Town has been swallowed up into Commercial Road and, apart from the sign on the side of Kennedy's, little remains of this once vibrant area.
Apparently, Costa Fine Town (real name Corstorphine Town) was named after business man Robbie Corstorphine, who settled in South Shields,
but hailed from Corstorphine, a village west of Edinburgh.
Message Thread | This response ↓
« Back to index | View thread »